If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me: Psalm 88:18

Do you remember life before the internet?

Yes! People relied on traditional methods such as face-to-face conversations, phone calls, and handwritten letters to connect with one another. Long-distance communication often involved costly international phone calls or sending letters via postal services, which could take days or even weeks to reach their destination.

God’s ears are open when we turn our hearts to Him. He desires a broken spirit and a repentant heart. But when we hold on to sin, we turn our hearts away from God, from His listening ears, and from the fullness of His grace. Let us go before Him honest, and vulnerable, and experience His transforming love.


Gracious Lord, for too long I have cherished sin in my heart. I have held on to my pride and desires instead of seeking the fullness of Your love. Now I come before You in surrender, confessing my sin and asking for Your grace to renew me. Thank You for hearing my confession and not turning me away. May Your peace wash over me so that I may go forth transformed. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Reading this verse made me think back to my days in school. I was a decent student; not the best, not the worst. For anyone that has been to school, we can all probably remember moments when the teacher was asking for volunteers. If you remember this situation, I am sure you can also remember when nobody wanted to volunteer. Every student in the class heard what the teacher was saying but nobody wanted to step up and volunteer. Usually the teacher would then select someone, typically a good student who would be capable of completing the activity or a troublemaker that was talking at the time.

I think that basically every student in the class would be capable in those situations to complete the task at hand, but nobody wants to stand out or be wrong. In many ways, our relationship with our faith is similar.

If you are reading this, you have, at one time or another, heard God’s calling. We respond to the call in different ways, sometimes not responding at all. Like the frightened school children, we do not want to stand out. We do not want to be wrong. As this passage in Isaiah says, if we respond, we cannot be wrong. Our sins have been purged. Knowing that our sins have been forgiven, knowing that we have heard the call, the only wrong response is silence. I am reminded of the famous quote by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.:

“In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends.”

God, like a teacher to children, is calling for volunteers. We are looking around at each other, wondering who will be brave enough to heed His call. Be like Isaiah. Realize we cannot be wrong if we answer. When the Lord asks, stand up and volunteer. “Send me.”

Righteous anger is not in itself wrong. The Bible tells us that God’s wrath goes out against all the evil and wickedness of all people, who because of their sinful nature continually rebel against Him. God’s wrath is His righteous anger toward all who despise His will.  If we don’t learn how to control and deal with our anger positively, our enemies (including the devil) will use it to get exactly what they want.  Read the following Bible verses and try to develop a positive strategy for dealing with anger.

It is evidenced through both Old Testament and New Testament Scripture that God does have the power to heal our physical bodies. Miraculous healings still happen today! Use the following Bible verses to talk to God about your pain and fill your heart with hope.

Father, help me to keep my focus on you when the pain and hurt are overwhelming. Help me to be faithful and to see the good and blessings that surround me. Please strengthen my mind, heart, and body, and heal me today. May the Holy Spirit guide me in peace and comfort today. Amen.

This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses.  Now choose life, so that you and your children may live.”  (Deuteronomy 30:19)

In the Book of Deuteronomy, Moses gives his final words to the Israelites, cautioning them to follow and obey God rather than turn to false idols.

He calls them to be deliberate in their actions.

They have a choice, he tells them, between life and death, blessings and curses.

He urges them to choose life and the blessings that come from obeying God’s Word and serving Him.

The Blessings and the Promise of the Jewish Homeland

The choice seems simple, but in time the people of Israel turned away from God’s laws and teachings and, as a result, were scattered throughout the nations.

Still, even as these blessings and curses were being outlined, God foresaw that this would happen and promised that He would bring His people home:

“Even if you have been banished to the most distant land under the heavens, from there the Lord your God will gather you and bring you back.  He will bring you to the land that belonged to your ancestors, and you will take possession of it.”  (Deuteronomy 30:4–5)

Author: Delana Forsyth Zakrzewski

Thank You Father God in Jesus name for hearing my prayers, thank you Jesus for loving me, and thank You Holy Spirit for living in me in Jesus name Amen

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started